Testimonials - See what our guests are saying about Toucan Gardens Villa.


Guy B. Stayed: June 2017. Submitted: July 21, 2017.

BEST PLACE I'VE STAYED IN A LONG TIME, WE HAD A GROUP OF 8 PEOPLE AND IT WAS VERY COMFORTABLE.THE BEDS WERE VERY NICE DIDN'T WANT TO GET OUT OF IT. JOSE THE CONTACT WAS VERY HELPFUL AND ALWAYS AVAILABLE. I WOULD GIVE THIS A FIVE + OUT OF 5

Source: VRBO

*****
GREAT


Alyssa S. (Ann Arbor, MI) Stayed: June 2017. Submitted: July 13, 2017.

We stayed with a group of 9 and it was perfect. Jose was so helpful in helping us arrange transportation, which I would highly recommended as the house is in a pretty rural spot and an average cab would probably have difficulty finding it. We were picked up at the airport and shuttled to the house with stops at the grocery store and for snacks. Jose also arranged to pick up our friends late at night when their flight was delayed- very accommodating!

The house was beautiful and clean, and there was plenty of room for all of us. We found that the house had everything we needed: towels, a few basic spices, pots and pans, dishes, a dishwasher, etc. The view is wonderful, and we spent all of our time outside.

The only thing that I would want to warn people about is that it is secluded. If you want a relaxing vacation in a beautiful spot and home, this is the place. If you want to engage in a lot of activities and tours and go out to eat, etc., I would recommended a spot closer into Manuel Antonio. Or split up the trip, and do both like our group did! Also, plan to stock up on your groceries on the way in, but there is a small store about a mile from the house where we were able to pick up a few items.

Thank you for the wonderful stay! I would recommend to anyone.

Source: VRBO

*****
Wonderful


Kristi W. Stayed: June 2017. Submitted: July 1, 2017.

My husband, myself and one other couple arrived in the San Jose airport to a pre arranged ride having been arranged for us in advance from the airport to the house, through the care taker Jose. The start of a very stress free vacation. We arrived at the home which was very spacious, clean, well maintained inside and outside, and beautifully decorated. We were given a tour of the large yard around the home and told of all the wonderful fruits we had access to that were in reach in the yard. The backyard view was breath taking consisting of the lush jungle with the ocean in the distance. Jose then sat down with us to help plan out our itinerary, everything from date, time and rides to and from to events were taken care of. We were shown basic things in the home lights, pool, WiFi ect.. all questions asked and answered. We were introduced to the security guard and all fears of safety were addressed, for anyone who may be a worrier like me. The outside living area covered and so inviting.And was geared to answer the needs of a variety of individuals. For the exercise enthusiast there was an exercise machine or a wonderful trail for hiking. For those who want alittle competition with a cold beverage in hand there were a pool table and a ping pong table to entertain. Two hammocks swayed in the breeze waiting for some one to occupy them. a portion of the yard was set up for putting golf balls for the avid golfers unable to give up the game while on vacation. An open air kitchen, bar area and table and chairs were beautifully set up for late night cooking and entertaining. Every morning we were greeted by the sounds of many beautiful birds who perched in the tree tops and we anxiously spent mornings drinking coffee out doors in the lounge chairs always looking for the arrival of new creatures that wondered thru the property. Always looking for new photo opportunities. Every afternoon we floated in the large well maintained pool until we were water logged but never wanting to get out. If feeling the sand in your toes is more important then the pool the ocean was a short distance away. I highly recommend hiring Jose to spend a day at the beach with you. His cooking is fabulous. The people in the town were extremely friendly there was always someone waving and welcoming you as a visitor to their country. For us few people who hate to return home with dirty clothes there are a washer and dryer to accommodate that need. A trip of a LIFE TIME FOR US

Source: VRBO

*****
Kristi W


Christina N. Stayed: May 2017. Submitted: June 8, 2017.

Our stay at the house was wonderful and perfect for my family. With a pool table, ping pong table, HUGE pool, work out area, golf range, and horseshoes there was always something to do. I'm sure these amenities are better than you'll get at other homes. We were also fortunate to see monkeys which was really cool. The beach was about 30 minutes away but with the pool at the house it wasn't a problem at all.

I'd also like to mention how wonderful everyone was. Jose met us in town and guided us to the house where he showed us around and explained everything we needed to know about the house. He was extremely helpful with whatever we needed; excursion bookings, housekeeping, restaurant recommendation etc. We can't thank him enough! Also Griselda, the housekeeper, was absolutely wonderful, friendly, efficient, and trustworthy. On-site security was wonderful as well; always very helpful. It was nice to have someone onsite for help/questions.

I hope others get to enjoy this home as much as we did!

Source: VRBO

*****
Great escape for Relaxation.. 
Excellent stay!!


Richard H. Stayed: Apr 2017. Submitted: May 10, 2017.

This is a beautiful property. The house is open and spacious. The patio, pool, outside bar and cooking area are perfect. We even got to hold the toucan! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Source: VRBO

*****
Highly recommend!


Andrea H. Stayed: Mar 2017. Submitted: Mar 22, 2017.

We stayed at Toucan Villa for a week for spring break. The house was perfect for two families of four! The boys (ages 11-14) swam, played pool, ping pong, golf, and explored the nature trail behind the house. We saw Toucans in the mornings and evenings and if we didn't see them, we heard them. We even got to see one up close that Jose and Juan have saved and rehabilitated. It likes Toucan Villa so much, it keeps coming back. There are star fruit trees as well as mango, lime, banana, cashew, cinnamon and almond! We were able to eat the star fruit which were outstanding. Jose was very accommodating and kind and helped us arrange some outings during the week. He was always available to answer questions and offer advice and he was kind enough to meet us in Quepos and lead us to the house when we arrived! We were thoroughly happy just hanging out at the house enjoying the pool and preparing our own meals using the outside grill. I highly recommend Toucan Villa and hope that someday we can go back as we all wished we could stay for another week.

Source: VRBO

*****
Fantastic vacation!


richiemiami (Boca Raton). Stayed: December 2015. Submitted: December 13, 2016.

Stayed here for ten days and when it came time to leave I didn't want to. Manuel Antonio is short drive and where I did most of my eating out. It was nice that the house is a short drive from town for I like the distance and felt comfortable that I could go there or stay at the house and find peace in the solitude. I awoke in the morning hearing what I was told to be tucans in the almonds trees - their song was so beautiful that I could not imagine of a more beautiful way to awake. The pool was perfect for a few laps in the morning and the nature trail perfect to see the wildlife up close. I can't wait to visit this peace of heaven again.

Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

Source: VRBO

*****
A piece of heaven!


Monique (Long Beach, CA, USA). Stayed: September 2016. Submitted: September 23, 2016.

We could not have asked for a better honeymoon! The grounds are spacious and gorgeous with nature all around you. Wonderful views all the way to the ocean. (I have many videos of the plant and animal life in the yard) The neighbors are so far away, you feel as though you are on your own island! It was very private. In the early morning and evening, the toucans would come out and call to one another in the trees on the property. The house even provided a telescope to see into the rainforest which surrounds the house. We came during the rainy season and it did rain some, but it was so warm out that it was fun to go swimming. The house provides so much: a pool table, bbq, outdoor shower, 2 hammocks, pool lounges, workout equipment, a ping pong table, A/C, an indoor spa tub, a juicer, a t.v., telescope, an on site nature trail, 24 hour security with Juan and Raul and a wonderful, personal host, Jose, who helps you do anything you'd like to do! He can recommend and set up a catamaran adventure, zip line, a nature walk with a waterfall and pools to swim in, massages, facials, restaurants, nightlife and the list goes on and on! His knowledge of the people and culture were of such value to us. Even getting to the grocery store! There are a couple restaurants that became our go-to for an impromptu night out. And if we wanted to eat in, we popped round to the local grocery store and stocked up on goodies for the fridge. Quepos and Manuel Antonio were about a 20minute drive away. When we were craving a pizza, we went in to town for a great pie! Everything you could want was so close and almost everyone speaks English. (Although when we go back I hope to be much more fluent in Spanish) We definitely plan on coming back with friends and family. This was more than we hoped for!

Recommended for:  People with disabilities, Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Source: VRBO

*****
Beautiful Honeymoon


Anna The Hague (The Hague, Netherlands). Stayed: July 2016. Submitted: August 4, 2016.

We recently came back to the Netherlands after a 2 weeks vacation at the Toucan villa. Without a doubt, we had the best vacation ever!!! 
To start with, the house is absolutely gorgeous. Tastefully decorated, nice interior design, very spacious and has all the amenities (and more) that you need for a very comfortable and luxury stay. Going out into the back yard, there is a HUGE swimming pool. Even with 10 ppl and 6 kids surfing(!!) in the pool, there was still more than enough space. To make it even better, the view from the pool is over acres and acres of prestine rainforest with the Pacific Ocean as the back drop. Paradise!! 
Walking into the garden on a very well manicured lawn, you are surrounded by various fruit  trees, flowers and tropical plants. Our kids loved picking star fruit, lime and mangos. Inside the house, there is a juice machine to make fresh fruit smoothies, yummie!!! 
Surrounding  the garden, there is indeed a very large area of untouched rainforest including a very cool and quite adventurous nature trail. It meant that we got to see and observe (among other animals) toucans, parrots, sloths, butterflies and frogs (that other people pay a lot of money to see in natural parks such as in Manuel Antonio) right in our back yard. Unbelievable! 
After 2 weeks at the Toucan villa, we decided to travel around Costa Rica for 1 week. While we thoroughly enjoyed this, my husband and I regularly said to each other "yes nice but we saw that in the garden of the Toucan Villa as well". So all in all, this property and it's surrounding areas (with for example the beach within a 20 min drive) offers you all the beauty, fun an adventure that Costa Rica has to offer. If you are worried about security, don't as that is also taken care of with 24 hour security and Jose (property manager) who is available to answer any questions and to help out with any requests. So without hesitation, we would say; for an unforgettable vacation, book this place! Pura Vida.

Recommended for:  Families with young children, Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Source: VRBO

*****
Perfect place for a perfect vacation!


Check-out this paper by Bo Petersen in the The Post and Courier. Published July 24, 2016.

Afloat in the Costa Rican hills


Jaime B. (Huntersville, NC ). Stayed: June 2016. Submitted: July 14, 2016

Recently I traveled to Quepos with my husband, brother and sister-in-law. We had the most amazing time! The home is absolutely beautiful and the views are breath taking. In the past my husband and I have always stayed at resorts when we traveled. We honestly enjoyed this so much more because we felt like we were in a resort all to ourselves. The only difference is we were able to cook for ourselves, which was also nice, because we were able to try all of the local food. Jose was the most wonderful guide we could have ever asked for. We had such a great time with him and we wanted him to join in all the fun with us. There are so many wonderful things to do within driving distance of the home. It was by far the best vacation we have had to date! BIG thanks to Jose for all of your guidance, advice and friendship!!!

Recommended for:  People with disabilities, Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Source: VRBO

*****
We loved Tucan Villa
and Jose!!!


Cari T. Stayed: May 2016. Submitted: May 26, 2016

My family of 5 adults recently stayed in this beautiful villa and had a wonderful time. The pool was awesome, private with a nice view of the mountainside. We felt completely safe with the onsite security, and honestly even if he wasn't there I think we would of felt fine. This house is great for the traveler that is looking for a home outside of the hustle and bustle of Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Be aware that there is a short drive from the house into town, but you get the pleasure of driving through 2 small towns where you get to see more of the "local scene". Now as you can see from the title, we loved Jose, he met us in I town, drove us out to the house, and gave us a tour of Quepos and set up anything we may be interested in doing. Ask him about the restaurant in Leon, it's a cool bar/restaurant that served the best Chiiccarones and rice with chicken, a true authentic Costa Rican meal with a great vibe, be prepared there is no English speaking here. I will comment that we did lose power a few nights while we were there, but it was the beginning of rainy season and I think this is common. All in all, we hope to be back and LOVED Costa Rica!!! Thank you Jose!

Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Source: VRBO

*****
WE LOVE JOSE!


ctmominlaw (CT). Stayed: April 2016. Submitted: April 26, 2016

The home is exactly as pictured, and was clean and spacious for our group of seven. The five teenagers in our group were never bored when we were at the house, and made good use of the huge and pristine pool, golf clubs, pool table, ping pong table, decks of cards, backgammon set and WiFi. While the outdoor temperatures were in the mid-90s during the day, the house was comfortable for sleeping with air conditioners and ceiling fans. On the first day, Jose arranged for our airport transfer and helped orient us to the area, including taking us into town for lunch and food shopping, making our first activity reservations and arranging for a van with a driver ($80/day, only on the days you need one, if you're a large group and deciding between renting a car and hiring a van). More importantly, he was helpful in letting us know which activities NOT to pursue (e.g. waterfall tour and rafting) because of the less than optimal conditions when we arrived at the end of the dry season. As a matter of personal preference, we made our own plans for the rest of the week, and only saw Jose again when power went out in the area and he came to report on the status that he had obtained from the power company. (It was a downed tree and restored quickly.) It should be noted that the house is located about 30 minutes from where VRBO shows its location on the map, so it is not right in Quepos, but is on the other side of the main highway up a long, bumpy (i.e. slow) dirt road. The villa's website -- toucangardensvilla.com -- has a more accurate description of the location. We personally appreciated being outside of the tourist area: it was completely peaceful and relaxing. But you will need a car or a driver to get to a market, restaurants and any attractions, and you will need to plan ahead for meals if you don't have your own rental car and are relying on drivers.

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Lovely home outside of Quepos


J&B (Quebec). Stayed: February 2016. Submitted: April 5, 2016

We spent a fabulous week on this lovely property. The time went so fast! The views and the pool area were spectacular. Our host, Jose, really made our time there very special. We had a barbecue on the beach, prepared by Jose, that was delicious. What a cook! I duplicated his guacamole recipe upon our return; it got good reviews but we were missing Jose and the setting. Would love to return to this beautiful villa again.

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway.

Source: VRBO

*****
A Wonderful Vacation


Bobbie (Gore Bay, Manitoulin Island, Canada). Stayed: January 2016. Submitted: March 23, 2016

Thank you Jose!! A totally amazing property! We were a party of 8 which included an infant. I had sent emails to Jose (who applied right away) about the baby's needs...a high chair etc. We noticed on arrival that there was a brand new empty box that had held a high chair. Now that is service! Jose was always just a phone call away to answer any questions that we might have. We did all our own cooking in the well equipped kitchen. The market in town was wonderful. Prices in the grocery store were equal or greater than what you would expect at home. We have stayed in several VRBO's, I have never taken the time to write a review. This house is well worth the money...even in US dollars, which was not clarified until well into the booking. I noticed that they have changed their website... to conversion. The pool, the view...sunrise & sunset!!! Speechless... This was our best vacation. Hope to be able to do it again! The only thing I could suggest is that the garbage could be taken away throughout the week (we didn't ask). Really a small worry!!

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Family Vacation


Ladies from Texas (Texas). Stayed: July 2015. Submitted: March 21, 2016

My sister, niece and cousin and I spent 8 wonderful days on this property. Jose was the best ever. He always checked in on us. My cousins luggage got lost and low and behold Jose found it and picked it up and delivered to the back door. Our security guard keeps the place looking so beautiful. The pictures do not do this place justice as it is the most beautiful property I have ever seen. Jose took us on a water fall tour that was out of this world. Helped us schedule all of our tours, got us a rental car and just was the best all in all. There is so much to see not only on the property but also in the little towns around there. We had the best time and the most relaxing vacation ever here. We would HIGHLY recommend for anyone that wants some adventure and down time. Even when the electricity went out for a day we had all the accommodation outside on the patio and made a day of it. The breeze is always blowing so really no need for a/c. I could go on and on but you will have to experience it to believe what everyone else says about not only the owners, grounds keeper and Mr. Jose.

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Girls Vacation


Ester (St Paul, MN, USA). Stayed: February 2016. Submitted: March 5, 2016

Toucan Gardens Villa definitely has the WOW factor! The accommodations exceeded my expectations. Breathtakingly beautiful vistas, so quiet and peaceful.. Loved relaxing poolside and just taking in the sights, smells, sounds, and tastes of this amazing tropical paradise. Plenty to do or not to do.. The staff, led by Jose was friendly and at times went above and beyond the call of duty to make everyone in my group happy. Thank you Jose for your excellent care. I had the adventure of a lifetime.

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
girls gone mild, 50's group


Deb (Bemidji, MN). Stayed: February 2016. Submitted: March 3, 2016

The best vacation Ever!!! The property is beautiful and well cared for. We ate fresh bananas off the tree in the yard! So very private and relaxing. Everything you could want was included. a great kitchen and comfortable beds! Love the pool! The additional sights of Cost Rica are within a short drive! Love the ocean, the local horses and cattle! The beautiful country, the Monkeys too!! The weather was amazing! Thank you to the owners and their family and to Jose who knows his way around to all the Hot Spots and must see areas! Definitely a once in a life time experience! Don't miss out on this one!

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Northern MN


50 ladies  (mn). Stayed: February 2016. Submitted: March 2, 2016

we arrived to a beautiful house and the property, so pretty, I love plants and flowers and fresh fruit this property has it all , we loved the pool used it every day, so clean and refreshing, the security guards were all friendly and helpful and the gardeners did a wonderful job, jose did a great job showing us the country side and very friendly and informative as we girls asked a lot of questions, he cooked a meal on the beach that was awesome,and as we were crazy about finding monkeys we saw many thanks to jose, so thanks jose for the wonderful time,good job

Recommended for:  Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+.

Source: VRBO

*****
Girls getaway 50's group


friend of relaxation  (Minnesota). Stayed: February 2016. Submitted: February 16, 2016

What a beautiful place to have our girls' getaway! I totally enjoyed my stay! Everything was great. The area is secluded, but is guarded 24 hours. The beautiful extra large pool was a favorite for our group. Jose was a wonderful host and helped us to get the most out of our vacation.

Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+.

Source: VRBO

*****
Absolutely Fabulous


Pierrette L.  (Québec, Canada). Stayed: November 2015. Submitted: February 8, 2016

(Opinion d’un visiteur du Québec (Canada))
Nous avons fait de nombreux voyages au cours de notre vie, et celui-ci est le plus remarquable. Nous sommes tout simplement tombés en amour avec cette villa haut perchée sur une des nombreuses montagnes de la région. Bien que la région soit très sécuritaire, il y a un poste de sécurité à l’entrée avec un gardien de sécurité en tout temps. Quotidiennement, la piscine, le BBQ et le patio sont nettoyés et le gazon et les jardins sont entretenus. La villa peut facilement héberger 10 personnes confortablement avec chacune de ses 4 grandes chambres à coucher munies d’une salle de bain. Chaque pièce est équipée d’une unité de climatisation indépendante pour un confort personnalisé. Le salon est vaste, les sofas sont confortables, la tv offre de nombreux postes locaux et américains. La cuisine est spacieuse et très bien équipée. Le patio est immense et une grande partie est couverte. Beau temps, mauvais temps, nous pouvions prendre nos repas dehors. Sur le patio, les divertissements sont nombreux : table de billard, ping pong, un module d’entraînement, deux hamacs pour relaxer. On y trouve aussi un BBQ avec un comptoir/bar : parfait pour siroter un verre, en discutant et grillant son souper! Autour de l’immense piscine, nous ne nous lassions pas d’admirer la vue sur la nature, assis sur des chaises longues couvertes de matelas blancs. Nous avons eu la chance d’observer de magnifiques toucans autour de la villa, des papillons bleus et plusieurs autres espèces tropicales. Un immense merci à Jose, le meilleur des concierges ! Nous comptons retourner à Toucan Gardens Villa avec des amis dans un futur rapproché afin de leur faire partager cette expérience.

Recommended for:  Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Notre plus beau voyage


Réal L.  (Québec, Canada). Stayed: November 2015. Submitted: February 8, 2016

We did much travel in our life, and this trip was the most outstanding one ever. We simply fell in love with this superb villa perched, high on one of the many mountains of the area. Although the area is very secured, there is a security guard station at the entry with a watchman on duty 24 hours a day. During the day there is a very discrete and courteous maintenance staff that comes around (usually during our absence) for a daily outdoor area maintenance. The swimming pool is cleaned daily, as well as the grill. Grass and gardens are maintained in a remarkable way. The villa itself is also very clean and well maintained. The air conditioning is powered by several independent units which ensure perfect comfort. The villa can easily accommodate 10 people with all 4 bedrooms equipped with a bathroom. The living room is vast with comfortable sofas to sit everyone and there is a large tv with numerous local and American channels. The living room has a magnificent view on the extra large and newly refurbished swimming pool. The kitchen is big and very much equipped. Whatever the weather, you can enjoy your meal outside since there is a long dinning table that is covered. And there is a very, very large covered patio where you can play pool, ping pong, train with the punching ball or simply relax in one of the two hammocks. There is also a BBQ with counter and bar (very pleasant to sit around, chat and have drinks while you wait for your dinner to cook)! Several deck chairs with clean white mat are set around the amazing swimming pool where we never got tired of admiring the breathtaking view. Around the villa, we had the pleasure to observe splendid toucan birds, blue butterflies and many, many other tropical species. And many thanks to Jose, the best concierge ever! We are DEFINITIVELY planning to revisit the Toucan Gardens Villa in a very near future with friends.

Recommended for:  Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Most Outstanding Holiday Ever


RGB (Jacksonville, FL, USA). Stayed: December 2015. Submitted: December 15, 2015

Provided an overall EXCELLENT experience.  The villa's manager, Jose, met us in Quepos and was extremely helpful and hospitable throughout our stay.  I would highly recommend this villa for anyone visiting Quepos including fishing groups, families, and tourist in general.  We had five in our group.  The sleeping accommodations were excellent and exceeded all expectations.  Each of the 4 bedrooms included a private bathroom.  The kitchen was modern and included all the necessary items.  There was also a lot of great activities at the villa...a large swimming pool, a par 3 golf hole, a pool table, ping pong table, horse shoes, a fantastic outside BBQ area, and big screen TV with US cable channels.  The house is equipped with WIFI which worked great.  The house was extremely clean and well maintained both inside and out.  Even though it is a very safe area, the villa included a 24 hour security guard on location (the guards were very friendly and stayed in a guard house near the entrance.  It is our intention to stay at this location again in the future.

Recommended for:  People with disabilities, Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
A Fantastic Experience


Julie G (Florida). Stayed: November 2015. Submitted: December 14, 2015

We stayed Thanksgiving week -- 9 of us (including a 2 year old) -- house was perfect!  Large enough for all of us to have our own space...but "homey" enough for us all to have a great vacation together.  
Jose was the most gracious and generous host!  Not only did he give us an overview of "what to do"...but then proceeded to take us to various places, cooked bbq on the beach for Thanksgiving...wow!  And spent a day on his own time with us at the National Park.  What a remarkable gift to us to have Jose guide us through beautiful Costa Rica.  We would highly recommend this home to anyone travelling to Quepos.  Clean, spacious, and meticulously maintained and hosted by Jose.  Thank you!

Recommended for:  Families with young children, Sightseeing, Tourists without a car, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Toucan Gardens & Jose Fallas are both Amazing!


Harry Camper (Boise). Stayed: December 2015. Submitted: December 13, 2015 

You will not be disappointed. Gated property with 24 guard on duty. Better than the pictures advertised. Wonderful pool and deck. A/C worked well. Property will maintained. Pool deck cleaned daily as was the grill. Large reefer and kitchen. Comfortable beds. Plenty of fresh linens and towels. Jose the manager lives nearby and it's very helpful.

Source: HomeAway Family

*****
Top Drawer Experience


Annie L. Stayed: November 2015. Submitted: December 11, 2015

To start with, I must say the oversized bright blue pool was a must to all of us. It had just been renovated, with mosaic tiles that gives it a very upscale look. On the full length of a pool side, you can sit on the underwater bench, admire the toucans in trees nearby and relax with a drink under the sun! The deck and pool area are huge and it’s such a freedom to have all that space and those amenities just for your private party. Such an upgrade compare to a resort-type accommodation. The villa itself is also very spacious. We were 6, but we could have easily been 10 and not feel crowded. Jose is such a nice and generous host. He booked tours for us, arranged transport to and from airport and answered many of our questions about the local culture. He also acted as a guide when we went to Los Campesinos Reserve. It is not far from the villa and that’s where you can walk on a long suspension bridge over a high waterfall. And then, you can go down at the bottom of the waterfall to swim in natural pools! It was our second holiday at this villa and we will come back again.

Recommended for:  People with disabilities, Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Loved Toucan Gardens Villa
and Highly recommend it!


Sara R. Stayed: September 2015. Submitted: September 30, 2015.

The hospitality that Jose, Juan and Starleen provided was outstanding! They made us feel so comfortable and accommodated all our requests. We couldn't have asked for a better stay! Jose met us late on our first day of arrival to show us the way to the house. The next day he met with us to book our excursions which was incredibly helpful. You have so much privacy at the villa but you're not too far removed from local attractions. I recommend this place to anyone looking for an adventurous yet relaxing vacation in paradise. Toucan Gardens Villa WILL NOT disappoint, I promise!

Recommended for:  Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
The Best of Everything!


DJ (St. Paul MN). Stayed: June 2015. Submitted: September 17, 2015.

This place is amazing. We were there for 10 days and had little planned. On the first day Jose the property manager met with us and shared all the things we could explore. Then he booked all our tours after we decided. He then drove us into Quapos and showed us where and what to see so we could get our bearings. We went horse back riding, kayaked the mangroves, jeeped to the water falls and a day at the beach with Jose as our host providing us with an awesome meal. Of course we needed some down time and that was spent at the house. We played pool on the patio, ping pong and enjoyed the pool with a spectacular view. I thought it would be to hot in June but was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. There were very few tourists at that time. The home is on 30 acres and very private and comes with all the amenities one can hope for. Will definitely bring my family back. Thanks Jose for a great time. Dave and Jackie

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Paradise in Costa Rica


David S. Stayed: August 2015. Submitted: September 17, 2015.

If you don't like fu, adventure, nature, friendly people, or tranquility, then Toucan Gardens Villa and Costa Rica are not for you. So many others have described all too well the amenities of the house and the thrill of being surround by a jungle where you become just one of thousands that make the environment hum. We had some intense thunder storms that knocked out power but it was a fun to feel even more like land of the lost. Jose was a wonderful concierge - he would fit in nicely in the Grand Budapest Hotel (but I'm glad he is where he is!). We were 5 including two 15 yr old boys and one 9 year old boy. They came to view Jose as their Costa Rican grandfather and the two days we spent with him at the beach in Matapalo (where a sloth slept over our heads as Jose cooked an amazing meal for us) and in the open air jeeps to the suspension bridge and waterfalls were two of my favorite days. For dads looking for some peace, I enjoyed 6-8 AM by the pool before everyone awoke. Great time to watch birds. Have fun grilling outside at night with all the critters, esp the huge praying mantis - He/she liked to sway to the Bluetooth speaker. For my wife and I it was amazing to revisit where we had honeymooned 18 years before and we hope not to wait so long to return again. And, when we do, I sure hope it is at Toucan Gardens Villa where we swam, played lots of ping pong and hung out with the house's owner, the beautiful Carlita.

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Carlita's Way


Ranya K. Stayed: July 2015. Submitted: August 15, 2015.

This was my third trip to Costa Rica.  This time, I brought my husband, two (young) daughters, sister, and parents.  This is one of my favorite regions of Costa Rica.  It's where the jungle meets the ocean and where the people are full of pride and love of their country.   I knew what to expect from the region, but I did not expect the experience of staying at Toucan Garden.

First, to get the personal service that Jose provided is unfounded.  A genuine person really wanting us to take in what Costa Rica has to offer.  He was readily available to us and helped us navigate less touched areas.

The house:  You won't find anything like it!  From the location, to the view, to the amenities, to the privacy, to the space.....you can't beat it.  To watch the toucans every afternoon feeding on their trees, the macaws that made a special appearance, the intentional bushes that attracted all types of butterflies....you really didn't have to leave the house to see what Costa Rica has to offer.  In July, you can count on a thunderstorm just about every evening.  Be sure to get out early to enjoy the sights and wildlife before it gets too hot/humid and then return home by 1 or 2 p.m. and cool off in the pool.  We all were so thankful of this amenity!  There is plenty of kitchenware to cook with so preparing dinner every night was a simple task (if you are comfortable buying your own groceries).  Every room has their own bathroom and there is hot water.  There was no issue in everyone showering at about the same time. Beds are very comfortable and AC made it so we all slept soundly at night.  

Usually when we rent other homes, there is a multitude of things that I can say that could have made our experience better.  I can't say that anything could have made our experience at Toucan Garden.  Other than we wished we had more time!

Manuel Antonio:  I love this park!  Here are some tips you should be aware of:  It is a good walk to get to the beach.  The beach entry was washed out a couple of years ago so the walk is a little more difficult than I remember.  It was OK for most in my family, but if you have issues with walking, you may want to reconsider.  Do NOT reserve your ticket into the park.  Unfortunately, an arrangement was made that was not completely disclosed on how entrance to the park works.  It is worth getting a tour guide, but wait to get your tickets on your own and hire your own guide.  

Source: HomeAway Family

*****
PURA VIDA!


R Thomas (Raleigh, NC, USA). Stayed: August 2015. Submitted: August 9, 2015. 

Wow! Now we understand all the great reviews of this home. We just came home from this beautiful home and country and it was the most exciting and memorable vacation we have ever had. The home was secluded and very comfortable. The view of the mountains and Pacific Ocean was breathtaking! We had eight in our group and the home was perfect for us. We loved the deep pool, pool table and chaise lounges. We can't say enough how helpful Jose was with our vacation! He arranged for a micro van for transportation to and from the airport and arranged for another driver, Marco, for our local excursions. It turned out to be less expensive to hire a driver when we needed it than renting a car that will fit eight for all 7 days. Jose helped us arrange all the excursions and they were fantastic! We snorkeled, spotted whales and dove off a catamaran sailboat. Visited the Manuel Antonio park and saw monkeys and sloths. Played at the beach one day while enjoying the amazing food Jose cooked for us. We are still talking about his guacamole dip and chimichurri sauce!!! Zipped lined through the forest and explored waterfalls and swam in the pools below them. Even though we went in the rainy season we had sunny days till around 3 or 4 pm. The mosquitoes weren't an issue at all either. We had lunch out most days. Many of the excursions included it in the price and we grilled every night in the outdoor kitchen. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We were sad to leave this paradise.

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Unforgettable Vacation!!


Anonymous. Stayed: July 2015. Submitted: August 3, 2015.

Our multigenerational family spent six nights at this beautiful, secluded private home.  With a large living area, four bedrooms and four baths, it had plenty of room for six adults and two small children to spread out.   We, however, spent most of our time outside.  The lanai and pool area, including a large dining table, pool table, ping pong table and outdoor kitchen, was fabulous, and the views, spanning miles, were stunning.  We were awestruck upon our arrival and spent mornings and evenings taking in the sights.  The landscaping was lush and well-maintained.  We enjoyed watching toucans come and go each day, various types of hummingbirds flit from flower to flower, and even saw macaws in flight to property nearby.  The pool was perfect for relaxing and winding down each afternoon after our various activities.

We opted to have Jose arrange for and cook most of our dinners and at least one breakfast.  Everything was delicious and so convenient.  After adventures at nearby Manuel Antonio National Park, Rainmaker park, and offshore fishing, it was a treat to return "home" without any worries about dinner.  It was a delicious, economical alternative that I highly recommend.

We had our own vehicle rentals, but I understand it's not necessary as shuttle from the airport and drivers to activities can be arranged.  Be aware that it is about a 20-25 minute drive from Quepos on gravel roads to the house.  That was part of the adventure for us and is what gives you the true, Costa Rican, secluded getaway experience.  

In summary, the accommodations were terrific, comfortable, well-appointed, and very clean.  The location was absolutely beautiful.  Jose and his staff were extremely friendly and helpful.  

Our stay at Toucan Villa was quite a treat, and I recommend it for anyone that wants privacy and seclusion in a tropical paradise.

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Source: VRBO

*****
Private Getaway


Liz Harrington (Woodstock, Georgia, USA). Stayed: June 2015. Submitted: July 15, 2015.

If you where looking for paradise then you found it! Driving up to the house was even an experience, one I will not forget for it was breathtaking. We had arranged a day our with Jose at the beach, but after arriving at the house we wanted just to stay forever and forget all over plans. However the next day Jose showed up for our day on the beach and I am so glad we went! Jose was all prepared with vehicles, portable shower, grill and lots and lots of food. If you are looking for a get away and adventure please check out this place. Thank you Jose!!

Recommended for:People with disabilities, Families with young children, Pet owners, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Source: VRBO

*****
Paradise!!!!!


 (Jacksonville, FL, USA). Stayed: June 2015. Submitted: June 15, 2015.

My family of 6 just retuned home from Costa Rica. If you are looking for a great place to stay, then look no further than Toucan Gardens Villa! The Home is very big and spacious with four bedrooms and four baths. The outdoor patio has a large pool, summer kitchen, bar, pool and ping pong tables. The villa is in the middle of a rain forest with breathtaking views of the ocean in a distance and the mountains. We enjoyed picking fruit from the various trees on the grounds. There is also a nature trail on the property along with beautiful tropical flowers and plants. Jose, the manager, was a tremendous help. He arranged for a driver and van to pick up and take us back to San Jose airport. He was extremely helpful and he suggested and helped set up the excursions for kayaking in the mangrooves, hiking and swimming at waterfall along with the suspension bridge, deep sea fishing, horseback riding, Manuel Antonio National Forest. Jose is a fabulous chef and our most enjoyable day was spending day at the beach with Jose who spoiled us with the best grilled BBQ, fish,shrimp and guacamole. We ate most of our lunches at various restaurants but Jose's crusine at the beach was the best we had all week We can't wait to return to Costa and we would definitely stay at Toucan Gardens Villa again. I would highly recommend.

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.

Source: VRBO

*****
Fabulous Vacation Home


J  (Philadelphia, USA). Stayed: February 2015. Submitted: March 23, 2015.

The pictures don't do it justice. This house and estate are huge. The rooms are very spacious; there's a fourth bedroom w twin beds not part of the description. Grocery store minutes away has everything you need and even takes US dollars. Two toucans live in a dead tree adjacent the property and serenaded us every evening at 5:30. Coupled w a drink in the pool = Pure serenity! We threw surprise bday party here. Jose took care if everything while we spent the day at the beach: decorated the house with streamers, banners, and balloons, arranged for an amazing band, cooked a huge delicious surf and turf meal, and even cleaned it all up the next day. It was perfect. We were 6 adults 30yo-70yo, 1 child 6 yo. Bedrooms are quiet, water pressure and hot water excellent, kitchen appliances better than in my own home (but we couldn't figure out the dishwasher).

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Source: VRBO

*****
Winter escape for extended family


Matt R  (Huntington Beach, CA). Stayed: March 2015. Submitted: March 22, 2015.

We loved this place. It is secluded with a fantastic view of the ocean and sunsets from the pool, yet a short ride to Quepos and the beaches. The local market has everything you need and takes credit cards. There is jungle hiking nearby, river swimming up the road with waterfalls and Manuel Antonio Park is about a 30 minute drive. The road from Quepos to the house was a little slow due to construction, they were paving all the roads. Jose, your host, is a great guy and is available any time you need anything or if you need a driver. Jose will help you schedule fishing trips, tours, etc. give you directions, or just take you there. The house has two open military Jeeps or a nice SUV with A/C at your disposal if you want to drive yourself or go 4-wheeling. There is good surfing nearby, ( I'm a beginner ) and Jose does an excellent job of setting up an all day beach party, on the sand, with a BBQ, drinks, snacks and he even brings a shower! Highly recommend that! Just give him a budget and he will get everything, cook it and all you do is show up to swim, surf and party all day long! The house is huge and air conditioned. It was just the two of us this time but we have 3 more couples ready to go as soon as we can set a date.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Source: VRBO

*****
First Visit


*****
Great Family Holiday Home

Family of six (Curacao). Stayed: July 2014. Submitted: August 7, 2014.

The description of the house and surroundings given in this website, really correspond with what you encounter when you arrive. Because it was a repeat visit for us, we already were familiar with the house and surroundings. The reason we chose to come back is that all 4 children wanted to come back, without hesitation, and we felt that we had not yet explored the entire area to the fullest. Also, last year was our most relaxed holiday ever. The house is very comfortable and spacious enough so that you can be together, or take some distance from each other would you desire to do so. The house is very tastefully decorated. The kitchen is well equipped. With a good internet connection and cellular reach everywhere, you can choose to be connected with " the rest of the world" whenever you want to. It is very child friendly, and the children have a lot of room to explore on their own! With a large pool right in front of the back porch, it is easy to keep an eye on them, while enjoying the spectacular view in the background. The thought that there is someone on the premises night and day, to keep up the property including the pool, nature trail and garden is comforting. We try to take long excursions one day and then stay close to home the next day. On our days around the house, we hike the nature trail down to the waterfall, which is on the premises, we gather fruit from the trees in the garden, have a BBQ and just chill. On the days out, we take a horseback riding tour, which leaves out of Londres, only 5 minutes away, we drive to Manuel Antonio (25 min) for some souvenir shopping and a nice bite to eat, we visit the local market in Quepos, (20 min) on Friday evening and Saturday morning, or we take a bit longer drive (40 min) to the endless and quiet beaches of Matapalo or even further. There are many excursions very close by such as ziplining, rafting, surfing, mangroves, nature park, fishing, you name it, it is available. Mr. Jose, the contact person, is extremely helpful and knows all the nice spots in the area. Summarizing, a great luxurious house, well suited for families with small children, in the middle of the rainforest, with a spectacular view and endless possibilities of tours and beaches just around the corner.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Source: VRBO


*****
All of my senses

annie l. (Montréal). Stayed: June 2014. Submitted: July 4, 2014.

Before my arrival, I knew what I would expect to see since I had seen pictures of the villa. But I had not expected that other senses would also be solicited. The most unexpected sense is the hearing. When you are around the pool, you hear no “city noise”, just the birds singing, the humming of the insects, and the sound of some hidden animals. During the green season, the humidity is refreshing and feels really nice. It also enhances the scenery around the villa, making you feel you are back million years ago in the untouched beauty of nature! Even the sense of taste is solicited: we savored ripped fruits that we picked from the trees that grow right next to the house: pineapples, mangos, starfuits, guavas, bananas and limes. The villa itself is fabulous! It is vast with high ceilings and I loved all the little details like the carved bedroom door with colorful toucans. The pool area is where we spent most of our time and it was probably my highlight. José is a gentleman and was of an inestimable help. I wish I was still there. And I would definitely recommend a stay at this villa.

Source: VRBO


*****
A MUST!!!

Tonya E. Stayed: June 2014. Submitted: June 24, 2014

My mom turned 60 this year and I wanted to plan a fun, exciting girls’ adventure for her, my sister, my aunt, my best friend & myself. When I found this home online I thought it would be the best place to accommodate all of us, and that it had the type of amenities we were looking for. We wanted space, a pool, a view, privacy, security and adventure. This property exceeded all of our expectations. We stayed for an entire week and had an absolute BLAST! We arrived at the airport and had a driver pre-arranged to pick us up and take us to the property. It was very easy. When we arrived at the property, it was even more beautiful in person than in pictures! The views are magical, the house is furnished with everything needed, and the outside space/pool are gorgeous. The property is gated and secure. There is a 24-hr guard at the property at all times. We never once felt worried being 5 women alone in the house. Jose, the house manager (or “Concierge Extraordinaire” as I like to call him) was amazing. For a small fee, he can be available to stock the kitchen w/food prior to your arrival, cook any meal day or night, and provide ideas/book daily adventures. We had him cook for us one night at the house. He is friendly, professional and a great cook. We also arranged for him to set up at BBQ and cook for us at the beach one day. He cut up fresh fruit, made table side guacamole and BBQ’d lunch for us. The beach he took us to was completely private and we had the whole place to ourselves. He took us another day to a famous bridge/hike to the most beautiful waterfalls I’ve ever seen. He booked zip lining and river rafting also for us. All of these trips were fun, professional excursions w/meals provided. He recommended local restaurants in town and even made reservations. Quepos and Manuel Antonio aren’t far from the property (maybe 20 mins), but I would recommend renting a car to get you to/from the property at your leisure. There are many wonderful restaurants in both towns. Manuel Antonio Nature Park & Wildlife Refuge is a must. It’s a nature walk that leads to a beautiful beach at the end. We paid one of the local tour guides to walk us through with his telescope and we saw a sloth with her baby, bats, many monkeys, toucans, large spiders, little dart frogs, land crabs, many iguanas and much, much more. He even gave us a full lesson on all the local plants and their uses. The local people are also very friendly and gracious. Pura Vida!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, People with disabilities, Romantic getaway

Source: VRBO


*****
AMAZING!

Trisha R. (Arroyo Grande, CA). Stayed: June 2014. Submitted: June 18, 2014.

We stayed in this gorgeous home on a week long girls trip.  It was the best vacation I have ever been on, hands down!  I had high expectations after reading all of the previous reviews, but was still beyond belief when we arrived.  It was our first time in Costa Rica and being with all girls we didn't know what to expect.  The house was so private yet safe and the people in all of the towns were so friendly and hospitable.  Jose the house manager was awesome!  He helped us plan all of our adventures (ziplining, white water rafting, waterfall hikes, private beach excursions) and made sure we had everything we needed.  We woke up every morning to toucans singing in the trees.  The sounds of all the wildlife was so peaceful and relaxing.  I cannot express enough how beautiful this house was inside and out.   I am looking forward to coming back with my family!  Highly highly recommend this property to every type of traveler!
Stayed June 2014Submitted June 18, 2014Source VRBO

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, People with disabilities, Romantic getaway

Source: VRBO


*****
Perfection!

Sue Habs Fan (Montreal, Qc). Stayed: June 2014. Submitted: June 11, 2014.

Seeking:  Calm ,serene setting.  Must have breath-taking views amid lush jungle vegetation. Blissful waterfall escapes and secluded cove beaches .  Fantastic accommodations that feel like home away from home. Soothing bird calls as backdrop to a lounging outdoor patio and a glistening pool to refresh sundrenched sun seekers. Not optional: Ever-smiling property manager Jose, who not only knows where the fun is but who can lavish you with delectable BBQ treats and the best guacamole on this planet. Family and friends a must to share in this experience. Found: Toucan Gardens Villa

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Source: VRBO


*****
Awesome vacation home!

Johanne L. (Toronto, Canada). Stayed: April 2014. Submitted: June 10, 2014.

This is an awesome vacation home! Hidden in the jungle this house has it all. It is beautifully decorated, comfortable and spacious. The house can easily sleeps 8, has 3 bedrooms and 3 ½ bath and 2 separate sitting/living areas. The outside living space is very spacious and is equipped with and outside kitchen area and bar. It features a large pool and amazing views of the mountains. It is very secluded and private and the 24/7 security guard on site made us feel very safe. The house is a short drive to Londres and about 25 minutes to Quepos.  Manuel Antonio National Park is a great place to visit and is not too far away.
Jose is very nice and always helpful. He made arrangements for us for various activities (jungle trail hike to suspended bridge and beautiful waterfalls, canopy zip lining) and prepared and served a fabulous gourmet dinner! Jose also arranged for transportation to and from the airport.
Five of us stayed at Villa Garden Toucan at the end of April. It was a great get away and we had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend this vacation home to my family and friends. Thank you for making out trip so memorable!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Source: VRBO


*****
FABULOUS GIRLS' GETAWAY!

Joanne G. (Massachussetts). Stayed: 04/28/14 Submitted: 05/06/14.

Once you step inside Toucan Gardens Villa (and yes, we did see Toucans!), you realize that the near 3-hour ride from the San Jose airport (especially the last 15-20 on a dirt road) is completely worth it. Nestled on 30 acres, about 20-30 minutes from Quepos, it is an ideal oasis for travelers wanting to relax and unwind or enjoy all the adventurous activities that Costa Rico offers.

The house is large but cozy with beautiful furnishings and comfortable plush couches in two separate sitting areas so there is plenty of space to gather or spend some time alone. Not that one will spend much time inside… once you step through the sliding glass doors to the outdoor patio overlooking the pool, you will be struck with a breathtaking view of the mountains, the forest and the ocean in the distance. The bedrooms are spacious and have recently been updated to each have a bathroom. Although the photos posted are good, it is hard to grasp the beauty of the house and the vista until you get there.

The property is gated and there is a security guard so our group of 5 women felt completely safe during our stay even though the villa is quite isolated.

Jose, the property manager, is very helpful with organizing various activities and above all he is a fabulous chef! I’m still craving his shrimp with tomatoes and capers and his guacamole! There is a large grocery store in Quepos and a small one in Londres (5-10 minutes from the house) that was very convenient for day-to-day items like milk, bottled water etc.

Although the weather did not cooperate to have a full beach day, we did other fun excursions like hiking to a suspended bridge, swimming in beautiful waterfalls, visiting Manuel Antonio National Park and zip lining with Canopy Safaris - which was a blast! There are many more activities to enjoy but we simply ran out of time.

I would definitely recommend Toucan Gardens Villa for your next girls’ getaway, vacation with couples or Family trip.

Recommended for: Age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway, girls getaway, families with young children, sightseeing, adventure seekers.

Source: VRBO


****
Nice house but not near the beach

CRMADMAN. Stayed: April 2014. Submitted: April 10, 2014.

Nice house located about a half hour outside Quepos central... Not a beach house but a nice house in the hills overlooking the plains and the ocean in the way distants... Add is misleading in two catergorys...one it's location is not close to any part of Manuel Antonio and surrounding Quepos... Two would be about a Olympic size swimming pool. This pool maybe is 35'X15"

Recommended for: Pet owners, Families with young children

Source: VRBO


****
Recent Stay at Villa Toucan

Taylor P. Stayed: May 2013. Submitted: June 11, 2013.
As per the other reviews, the pictures DO NOT do this residence justice. You are surrounded by rainforest, with many animals/insects visiting you on a daily basis. The view is absolutely insane. Our party spent the majority of the time in the pool or playing ping pong. We had a great experience with Jose and the 24 house guard were more than helpful to our party of 6. I would 100% stay at this location again. 

Key points about this house:
- Securing the house on a tight time frame will get tricky, make sure to give Karen a few weeks to lock everything in.
- We traveled during rainy season so the power goes out on a daily basis. This is completely normal, and would  not be a reason not to stay at this location. Its going to happen at every house you will rent
- Make sure to get an off road vehicle when staying at this location, its about 20 mins outside of Quepos on a dirt road (with many pot holes) but honestly it made the experience more interesting. MAKE SURE TO LOOK INTO THE ADDITIONAL COSTS FOR RENTALS, i can not emphasis this point enough. Our rental went for $160 to $600 after insurance (rental sites do not disclose this information)

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Families with teenagers, Romantic getaway

Source: VRBO


*****
Luxury - Couldnt have asked for a better vacation

CT. Lewiston, Maine. Stayed: February 2013. Submitted: March 5, 2013.

We landed in San Jose and picked up our rental, The drive was about 2 hrs to Quepos, When we arrived in town we met up with Jose (Great Man) who manages the property and can answer any of your questions you may have. We had a quick bite to eat with him and followed him to the house, The ride to the house brings you on a local dirt rd that lets you experience the way of life in Costa Rica, and hidden in the jungle you arrive to a large welcoming gate that is the start of the driveway lined with beautiful landscaping, We first met Juan at the guard house who watches over the house 24/7, He makes you feel very welcome and safe. Upon entering the house you feel like a kid in a candy store, Your not sure what you want to look at first. Jose gave us the rundown on where everything was and worked until we were comfortable and the house was ours. The pictures do not really do the house justice, The amount of relaxation or night time fun you want to have is really unlimited. The pool was so comfortable to be in, Ping pong games, small gym, driving golf balls off the deck into the jungle overlooking the ocean with a putting green is priceless, two hammocks, outdoor shower, beautiful landscaping...I really cant say enough about the property. The beds sheets and comforters were so comfortable I had to look for the manufacturer so I could purchase some of my own lol. As for the rest of Costa Rica we had a blast, Zip Lining, Surfing, Horseback Riding, The National Park were some of the things we did during our visit, The beach is beautiful and the Ocean temp was amazing. Servers will bring you drinks, dinner, virtually anything you want while laying on the beach. If your looking for an excellent place to stay and have memories to last this is the place for you, Wake up to the sun rising and be in or around the pool watching the sun set, I wish I could upload some of our photos....If you stay in this house you will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet owners, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, People with disabilities, Romantic getaway

Source: VRBO